Post Categories

Common Wealth Triangular Series Begins Today

The triangular series between Sri Lanka, Australia and Sri Lanka will start today Malbourne Cricker Ground. The first match will be between Australia and India. Each team will play 4 matches with each of the other two teams in the first round of this match. The two teams with most points will have to contest for the final trophy in three final matches. The finals will be on March 4, 6, and 8.

Australia has hosted 31 triangular series so far and they have been the winner in 18 of them. From the visiting teams in this series, only India has won one series. In 2007-08 series India team won the series 2-1 and India and Australia teams were lead by M.S.Dhoni and Ricky Ponting respectively. Sri Lanka is yet to bring a trophy home from a tri-series in Australia even though they have been in final for two times against Australia.

In this series Australia team in well ahead to be in the final and it will be a tight contest between Sri Lanka and India to play against Australia in the finals. Australia team leads the One Day International ranking with 130 points. India is in the number second position of the table with and Sri Lanka is in fourth place with 111 points.

Sri Lanka team will be lead by Mahela Jayawardana and this will be his first match after taking over the job from Thilakarathna Dilshan. Michael Clarke will lead Australia team and M.S.Dhoni is India’s captain.

Following are the team squads for this series.

Australian Squad: MJ Clarke (Captain) , DT Christian, XJ Doherty, PJ Forrest, RJ Harris, DJ Hussey, MEK Hussey, B Lee, CJ McKay, MR Marsh, RT Ponting, MA Starc, MS Wade (Wicket Keeper), DA Warner.

Indian Squad: MS Dhoni*†, R Ashwin, G Gambhir, RA Jadeja, Z Khan, V Kohli, P Kumar, PA Patel†, IK Pathan, SK Raina, V Sehwag, R Sharma, RG Sharma, SR Tendulkar, MK Tiwary, R Vinay Kumar, U Yadav

Sri LankaSquad:Mahela Jayawardana (Captain), Angelo Mathews (Vice Captain), Upul Tharanga, Thilakarathna Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanna, Thisara Perera, Fervis Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayaka, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dammika Prasad.

The live telecast of the Commonwealth bank tri series will be available in our Live TV pages.

Match Schedule for the Common Wealth Series

All the matches of this series will be Day and Night matches. Matches will start at 8.50 am in all the matches other than the ones in Perth in Sri Lanka and India time. The Perth matches will be at 9.50 am in Sri Lanka and India time.

1 comment to Common Wealth Triangular Series Begins Today

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.